The Capsule Wardrobe | Avoiding Sales.

p.s. I bought this dress on sale from Gap in early spring! best tent dress ever! Also the necklace is from Accessorize’s new Z collection which is gold plated I am 100% in love!

Sales resistance

I don’t know if I am doing it well, or if I am just being restrained by my budget but so far (touch all the wood) I haven’t bought anything in a sale. I can’t tell you what’s come over me or what this means but somethings going on and it might just be a capsule wardrobe success.

Previously I had thought that the Zara sale would happen and I would be in straight in there buying up a storm, but in reality I went online early put a thousand things in a basket, forgot about it and then came back and took it all out again. See here’s the thing, when you stop shopping for your most recent capsule it’s like you’ve had an arm cut off, you want to keep going. I forgot denim shorts! A denim jacket! I really need that twelfth white T-shirt and believe me for me it’s a struggle. Those first few weeks and I am a train wreck.

Now give me a month and a bit behind me and that has worn of substantially and its only really then (now) that I feel as if I can safely say that I don’t feel the urge to buy. Sure I love the idea of shopping I love the idea of new clothes but once I get in there and you’ve tried something on (I still do this during my capsule really just for fun – I don’t know what that says about me) I just want to put it back.

I just currently have no desire to buy things, if anything I don’t want to buy anything at all! So maybe it’s just the sale cycle, maybe I don’t have much disposable income right now but whatever it is I am actually quite enjoying it!

I think that when you come to the capsule from having somewhat of a problem, you do get to find relief in the capsules constraints. Reality is spending a lot and shopping a lot (especially if you go out of budget) can be a really stressful sport. I have felt beyond stress when I have spent unnecessarily and do I miss that? Not at all.

I know that these shopping bans haven’t solved the problem and maybe they won’t but they at least help. Which is at least the start of being more responsible with fashion.

 

6 thoughts on “The Capsule Wardrobe | Avoiding Sales.

  1. stitchedbyalyssa says:

    I’ve felt the same way! My first capsule was kind of spur of the moment, so I allowed a few more purchases, but as a whole, I no longer longingly look at online sales, etc., hoping that a new skirt or top will make me happy with my clothes. It feels good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

