The Weekend | Wellness & Health Pamper Saturday….

_DSC0441

The best thing you can do for yourself tomorrow morning? Give yourself a time out to look after yourself.

Last weekend we chose to give ourselves a weekend at home to finish up a few more things in our living room and just have the weekend off. In reality we barely got any chores done because we were too busy resting, but thats ok too and here is how it went . . .

YOGA

I’ve been a little out of it in terms of exercise but I have been focusing on building strength and balance rather than focusing on quick fixes. Yoga has been great for me in terms of flexibility and strength and I’ve been trying to do a different practice every other day. Last Saturday it was improving posture and shoulders, thursday was core and tuesday was legs…etc It certainly won’t transform me overnight but I’d rather I implemented a practice I could keep.

Body Scrub

2016 marked the year of proper skincare but interestingly I’ve never been good with the rest of me. I have surgery scars that the moment they occurred everyone told me to cover in vitamin E and all that but its just never been something I’ve been that bothered with, so four years later they really are still there but I have been playing around with body scrubs. Especially since we still haven’t gotten a bath, its as close to relaxation and candles as I’m ever gonna get.

Here I’ve used both a foot scrub (It smells of peppermint!) and a hand scrub which in the winter season really helps to minimise all that dry skin!

Face Masks

Last year I found this Face Mask from Loreal+  I really love the Charcoal mask but because I take it off with a hot flannel I’m always worried I’m leaving parts of it in my pores so I like to follow it up with Estee’s Nightwear detox mask.

Moisturise….

Once you’ve stripped all the oils you have to put them all back in! I also like giving myself a good amount of time for this to sink in. As we were at home that day I also used the advanced night eye cream, which I love. This thicker, gel like consistency sinks in quickly and I hate to say it but my eyes feel better for it, whether its working or not.  Followed up by daywear which is my go to for the winter months.

As a body moisturiser I’ve recently been using this moisture spray from sanctuary, its really light and absorbs quite quickly making it quick and simple for those like me who are on the go.

Eat Well

In another effort to feel better I’ve been dropping carbs in and out of my diet to find the best balance for me. I’m not allergic or anything like that, but my ibs is happier with less carbs, so a hearty breakfast last weekend was half an avocado, an egg (best poached) and some bacon, delicious, easy and simple.

The best way to continue a weekend like this is of course, a daily walk, afternoon naps and plenty of movies, but if you aren’t good with weepy films don’t foolishly start The Choice thinking it will be all daisies and buttercups… not the case.

Me and Josh are still recovering now 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

