Beauty and Health | 7 things I’ve learnt about my skin

_DSC0447

I think that there is a lot to learn about our skin as we grow into ourselves. From small things like what irritates, what foundations won’t sit on ‘that’ moisturiser to learning that skin is one of our most important body parts and to give it bad products and food choices can make life long affects.

It made me think, maybe I should share 10 things I’ve learnt about my skin.

  1. Adult acne, its real and its not going anywhere because its hormonal. 

Learning that my adult acne was not an infection but instead, a hormonal issues was almost the best moment ever. For the majority of 2012 I was on antibiotics. Antibiotics which I’m pretty sure caused IBS for several years.

The lesson here is if you hit 21 and your periods are all over the shop and you potentially have these symptoms its worth telling this to your Doctor. Polycystic is not the end of the world (and it often doesn’t cause infertility so you know) so make sure you have covered all basis, overloading your body with antibiotics is never good.

Your doctor will most likely prescribe drugs for this but there are other ways, I find Alisa Vitti to be on the right track so check her out . . .

        2.  & 3. Sensitivity

Cheap skincare products hurt my skin. I wish that they worked for me because hello savings but oh my gosh my skin hurts and erupts when they are no good.

I have to wear gloves to use cleaning products and nail polish isn’t worth wearing. Nail polish remover is now my enemy and leaves a feeling that I can only describe as being  like having bamboo placed under my fingernails. If it hurts, don’t do it.

       4. eczema 

My legs are uber dry, I must remember to moisturise, I rarely do but every four weeks guys, my legs, uber itchy.

5. Sometimes your facial moisturiser likes you other times, its gonna not be so happy

I have come to the conclusion that sometimes you have to have to separate regimes ones for summer and one for winter. Also sometimes our skin changes or its needs change and you just have to switch it all up!

6. Allergies

Who knew you could be allergic to hairspray? Apparently all my hairdressers is who. They look at me pretty oddly. Somehow its something that happens, I’m onto my forth attempt but I have been keeping it as far from my roots as possible and so far its working!

7. It might work for someone else, it might not work for you

My dad washes his face with soap from Sainsburys. Its basic but his skin never breaks out, always looks healthy and I’ve never seen it oily or greasy. If I did that to my own there would be a drastically different reaction. The reason for this is not for any other reason other than that we are different and our skin reacts to things in a different way.

At almost 26 the key to my skin has been playing with different products and combinations to see what sticks. Right now my skin is working very successfully with Estee Lauder skin products and it doesn’t work so well with the L’Oreal products which I used consistently from 22. Skin changes and thats been another discovery to find the right products at the right time!

What are your skin lessons? Leave them in the comments below!

_DSC0449

6 thoughts on “Beauty and Health | 7 things I’ve learnt about my skin

  1. Sarah Kirkland says:

    My favorite thing was going from Oily skin through most of my 20’s to uber dry in my 30’s I have learned that dewy well moisturized skin is worth every penny it takes to maintain it – lol cause when I go dry – watch out! Everything looks awful

    Like

    • therealjlow says:

      Yes!!!! I completely agree! It’s been a total 180 for me from uber oils to dry patches which are the worst! I’m not sure if there is a best! I’m actually finding make up free days are really helpful, weekly masks and sooooo much water and I can really tell the difference! (Actually think I like skincare more than make up shockingly!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Kirkland says:

        LOL – yes I feel I have just as many masks and serums and moisturizers in my bathroom as I do eyeshadow palettes. I switch up ever few days to keep my psoriasis at bay (exfoliation is key) and I’m a sucker for packaging so tiny little 3 packs of different masks always keep me coming back for more.

        Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      This is so true! It’s been a pretty big journey for me and I really love it actually! I was saying to Sarah (fallingwithstyle.co) that skincare has become a bigger favourite of mine then make up! Thank you for reading and commenting! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

