Food | Three friends create a meal for one

_DSC0400

It sounds strange right? Three people making one meal for one? Well lets start from the beginning, Josh was out, I was home alone and I asked some of our friends, what is their guilty pleasure food?

We came up with a lot of ideas but what I did have was a sweet potato. The first thing we came together with was sweet potato fries. Cut it up, (I only used half) mix it up with oil and a tiny bit of salt (if not making the kale to go with) shake them up and put them in the oven!

_DSC0388 _DSC0394

Now, if you don’t have a lot of time I have a cheat. Cut your potatoes into pieces and microwave the potato. Sweet potato doesn’t take as long as white potatoes so for it to be gently soft took only about 1 minute 30 on full blast. I did this before seasoning with salt, pepper and oil. Then I added grated parmesan and Cajun spice. Spice was our friend Pauls suggestion, there is nothing better than a good dose of spice for an extra flavour and kick to the palette! Once you’ve done this its a simple as throwing it in the oven (I don’t even think I can remember the temperature but I would assume I put it in at about 180).

Now for the next thing what to put with our sweet potato fries? My other friend who you have met on the blog before (Becky made those incredible florentines!) and she came up with some great ideas, baked Kale and soured cream! The way I mixed that up was adding crushed garlic to the kale (again seasoned with oil & salt) and chives in the soured cream.

So how do you bake Kale? It was the big question I had.

_DSC0397_DSC0398

Its as crazy simple as baking your chips it can take up to fifteen minutes but I found it was done in barely five, you load up a baking tray with your kale and you shake it up with your seasoning of choice. In this case that was rapeseed oil, salt, pepper and crushed garlic (a lot of) you mix this up and tower that kale high! with the water content being so high in kale it gets a lot smaller when baked, so pile high! pop it in your oven (below your fries) and wait for the Kale to crisp up and the fries to colour up and become crispy.

To finish pile your fries on top of your crispy kale, add a dollop of soured cream and voila a meal for one in barely any time! Bonus it’s vegetarian and filling! The trifecta!

Leave a Reply

