Home DIY | Kitchen Reno Inspiration

Kitchen inspo

Image Sources: Grey units, white kitchen tops, Subway tiles, wood floor, embedded sink, purple accents.

On Sunday we finally saw some sunlight and strangely I missed our flat. Not because I’m ungrateful for my house but because there is a great simplicity to renting a new-ish build to renting in general and having a property which is all complete.

Sunlight in our doer upper means seeing the things that need doing. Theres less dark evenings to hide the fact that our original seventies kitchen desperately needs another steam cleaning and although we have no intention in overhauling our kitchen just yet, theres no harm in making plans. Right?

Grey Units

I have a post for the future regarding my worries about embracing trends too closely in the home and although grey has been this massive trend in the last few years we have felt that grey units straddle the gap between minimalist white (which will show all the dirt) and darker, more traditional wood units. We are also infatuated with curved lines and a gloss finish for a modern and glamorous look which seems to reign supreme in our home so far.

White, sparkle flecked granite

As a child when my parents would take a trip to John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City I first saw this type of granite and obviously, I fell in love. I am a magpie and I’m not afraid to shout about it! I also however realise that this might be out of budget for us but a girl can dream and if I had good funds this would be it. If not I also love a basic white or even a wood top.

Subway tiles

In the bathroom we plan to have as few lines and edges as possible simply because a fluffing towel gets everywhere and who wants to be continually cleaning? In the kitchen we had the same idea but there is something about these tiles that I am just drawn to. If we went differently I also like the more basic plastic gloss splash backs. We are all about easy to clean nowadays.

Dark wood floors

We currently have basic beech, click together wood flooring in the living room and what I would ideally like it to darken it all and have the whole of the downstairs matching. I also feel like the darker wood is a little more unexpected.

An embedded sink

In the future house of our dreams a white, farmhouse sink will be ideal but for this house it just doesn’t suit. Obviously you have stainless steel sinks but again who doesn’t have one of those? I still like the white porcelain however and these new ones embedded beneath the work surface look great.

Purple accents

You might be surprised to learn that the Kitchen is actually Joshes domain. We operate the system that the first person home does the cooking and because my work hours stretch longer into the night Josh has been chief cook in our house for quite a while.

As Josh spends the most time in the kitchen I’ve given him the reigns predominately on what he fancies in this part of the house. Josh first spotted gloss cabinets, choose the grey colour and who also wanted Cadbury purple accents.

We will have some untiled – un covered walls in our kitchen so we intend for these to be painted purple and with a kettle already in metallic purple we are well on our way to the kitchen of our dreams!

4 thoughts on “Home DIY | Kitchen Reno Inspiration

    • therealjlow says:

      Oh I know the feeling! This won’t be until 2017 at best! I also need to get the suspension on our car fixed first! (Funnily passengers are not so keen on the clunking sound! Haha) I was thinking about doing a costing up post a couple of months down the line, I’m really interested to see how you can make cuts to a kitchen/barroom budget and still have a beautiful and functional room at the end of it! 🙂 also loving your recent photo gathers! Reminds me of blogging back when it was 100% genuine 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Kirkland says:

        We’re about to embark on re-doing our living room, maybe I should do a post about that. Our house is old and we’ve been gutting each room and updating from the framing out. It’s not fun but you feel rather accomplished when it’s done. I think you and I both miss the idea of blogging like when we first started, I love the way your posts have evolved I still avidly look for you and my other “blogging” friend Rob every time I check my reader!

        Liked by 1 person

        • therealjlow says:

          Oh you should!! Since buying our first place (ever!) I am completely obsessed with doing up all the rooms! My favourite part is seeing the evolution from something imperfect to perfect for you. Our 70’s property has been a great ride in how in 40 years a lot changes!

          Oh totally! I miss the days where it just felt like dropping in on friends and how it could be really fun! Whereas now I’m always thinking how can I market this post? Whose devil do I have to sell my soul to today? Haha

          Thanks sweetness! To you too! It’s always great having bloggers like us 🙂 hehe xx

          Like

Leave a Reply

