The Weekend | A one day Knit, Leg warmers.

Pink & Purple Wool from the Women’s Institute collection at Hobby Craft.

Before we get started I’m going to be honest. A few years back now I bought leg warmers. They were grey with a dark and light grey faux fur pom poms and I loved them. They were especially handy the following year when I broke my ankle. For anyone who has ever hurt/damaged a bone or muscles when the weather gets cold your joints get for lack of a better word, tetchy. So a leg warmer when I’m sat at home (or sometimes even at work, works wonders when you start getting a chill). So what I’m being honest about is this, I only made one.

Yes, thats just one leg warmer, for one leg! Why? Because I lost one of my grey leg warmers when I moved in with Joshey and so I figured, well . . . no ones gonna see me so if thats the case I only need to make one! Of course I also had grey wool available, but wheres the fun in that?

I used two different colours (basically I knitted two swatches and sewed them together, you can go from one to the other but I’m always rubbish with that! I used a really basic, Mattress Stitch Seam to join the two pieces.)

Because my hands hurt using the smaller ones and I’m lazy I went for my trusty size 10 knitting needles. The wool itself actually suggest using 9mm (US 13) ones which would make a better, closer stitch.

To size your leg warmer you can measure your leg but I honestly just cast on to a length I thought would work well knitted three rows in your basic knit stitch then mid row (I used 30 so my leg could swell freely!) doubled it back and checked it against myself.

On the top section I used two stitches, classic knit and the drop stitch.

How I introduced the drop stitch is through adding additional rows in the row before so effectively doubling them and then dropping those doubles on the next row. If I made the other or this again I think I would also pull the number of stitches in at the top to better hold it in place when being worn.

For the second colour (pink!) this was again two stitches. I went entirely off the cuff when it came to making this initially so decided towards the end that along with tapering it down I also wanted to switch over to purl just to make it feel like this was the end of the garment.

For the pink end I started tapering really early starting off at 30 I began tying off one stitch every two rows until I got to a size that just fit over my heel but would still grip my ankle (with a little swelling room).

Once you’ve completed your swatches next its time to connect them. Firstly I connected the two different colours both at the 30 end so if you started tapering with your first colour you’ll need to match that to your second. Then sew your edges together (again I used mattress).

I am a little slapdash so everything I do is a little messy! But whatever, just flip your leg warmer inside out and I promise it always looks better on the other side! Then all you have to do is tie of your ends as neatly as possible and there you have it, a fantastic leg warmer!

This one took me about 2 hours all together maybe less so its super easy, super quick and if you have that need to do a craft feeling this is a fantastically simple one!

One thought on “The Weekend | A one day Knit, Leg warmers.

Leave a Reply

