The problem with wedding hair.

Found on Mon Cheri Brides

The problem with wedding hair

Like most women I decided to grow my hair out. I have come to conclusion in my twenties that I am a girl who likes short hair. Long hair is work; effort and I have zero patience for spending what feels like hours drying it either.

However I knew my wedding vision and it required long or at least longer hair. So over the last year as you can see documented I have grown out my funky bob and let my blonde fade into non-existence.

That’s a whole other story but here’s the thing. When we got engaged and I envisioned my hair I realised one thing, I wanted my natural hair colour. At 25 I realise that actually (potentially) your hair with zeros greys is a limited time period, you don’t get forever and wasting that time bleaching and dying seems like a shame. You miss your natural hair in all its finest glory! I was also aware that I would probably fiddle with my hair colour a lot during my lifetime and I knew that I wanted both my children and my grandchildren eventually to at least know what the real, brunette me looks like.

So back to the hair I grew it out for a year, no hair cuts no intervention and then I took a deep breathe, freaked out and went to a new hairdressers to get it on its way to perfect. Just as I expected, Lisa my hairdresser thought that equalling out my haircut was the first step and even scarier a blunt cut was the cut of the day.

For further hair knowledge it turns out I have actually very thin hair (I just have a decent amount of it) because of this as it gets longer without cuts it gets lankier and looses its fullness so to build this up we cut it short-ish and blunt to rebuild that body that I desired.

Now however is the tricky part, waiting for it to grow out of this tricky stage. It’s a strange feeling have a long all over blunt bob. I have never thought about it but a good hair cut for me is one which has enough of its own structure that I can leave it to dry naturally or at least do its own thing without much intervention from me, this cut however requires work to not make me feel about six and that, has been tortuous.

Just like my make up I like my hair simple, I’m not interested in teasing and fussing I just want it to look good after brushing (or not) and allow me to get on with my day whilst feeling good.

So I am putting the floor over to you guys, what should I do? How can I make my hair look interesting and flattering with the least amount of work? If you have any ideas or suggestions please leave them below as I would love to hear more!

5 thoughts on “The problem with wedding hair.

  1. whatwouldstephdo says:

    I myself had the same issue as I grew my hair out for my wedding this year. I made a pintrest board literally called ” Hair as is grows for the wedding”. I favored the half up do ala Kate Middleton..or what ever her real new name is. It is easy and looks polished. I hate my hair in a pony tail so that was out. I also took hair and nail vitamins to help with my en devour. It was totally worth it. My hair looked exactly as I wanted on my day. But I highly recommend talking to a profession and getting a trial of the do before, not all styles work on all hair types, and they will tell you what cut you can have to be able to still do the style… good luck

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      thats really interesting and the nail and hair vitamins worked really well? I feel like thats something I need to look into! – What I really wish is that my current hair had some type of style to it? because she wants to build body back in it its just a blunt cut which I find makes me look so . . . blah? I guess the word is! haha thanks!!

      Like

      • whatwouldstephdo says:

        The nail and hair vitamins did work! They made my hair grow quickly and it was very healthy and shiny. I find adding layers to my hair helps it look thicker. If it is all one length it just sort of hangs there, which I hate! I usually bring a few pictures of what I hope my hair to look like to my stylist and ask when they can do to get my hair to look like that. If you have a good stylist this should be no problem.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

