If I did a Fall Capsule Wardrobe . . .

Tops (10)

  • White T-shirt
  • Navy T-shirt
  • Black three Quarter length T
  • Blue shirt
  • Grey wrap front Top
  • Cream lace top
  • Plaid shirt
  • Chambray shirt
  • Red bohoo top/dress from Zara*
  • Navy blue tunic

*The Zara shirt lasted two hours after the fabric itself ripped so its being returned this weekend.

Jumpers/Jackets 5

  • Black Blazer
  • Black backless jumper
  • Blue striped jumper
  • Cream & black Cardigan
  • Brown buttoned Cardigan

Bottoms 6

Dresses (4)

Shoes (7)

. . . It would look a lot like this.

The BIG Question – Why have I titled this, “If …”

The funny thing about above is there are only 32 pieces. If you remember last year I struggled to get each capsule under 40 pieces but this year a weight lifted! I am feeling a lot freer with my whole wardrobe in general so much so that I almost hate to cut it down to anything. I say this but because I could live with only the 32 pieces above, doesn’t mean that I will.

the truth is that I have come to such a comfortable and organic place recently that I feel so excited about all my clothes and wear them so much so that I no longer feel like I want to be limited in terms of a traditional capsule.

It is also however not to say that I won’t come back to capsules or that I won’t discuss it because honestly I love the way in which the process has opened my eyes but I also don’t want to feel governed by a set of standards to maintain.

I am so excited about what a year of capsules has taught me (stay tuned!) and about how I am now attempting to live in all aspects of my life but I had to ask myself and say that maybe hard rules are no longer applicable.

Its going to be a strange journey not having a set one after being so immersed in the capsule world but I also know it won’t feel as good forcing myself into a box I no longer belong in.

What are your thoughts on capsule living after a year, are you still invested? Do you want to continue or like me are you not so interested on limitation but might pop back time to time to do a Kendi style small capsule? Leave your comments below I’d love to hear them!!

10 thoughts on “If I did a Fall Capsule Wardrobe . . .

  1. Sarah Kirkland says:

    I have been struggling with the concept of a capsule wardrobe for the last 8 months or so, out here in CA we’ve been plagued with unusually hot wether for more than a few years and 4 seasons just doesn’t happen for us, I’ve migrated into a 2 season wardrobe, hot and less than hot, and keeping my shopping down to a minimum (yes I still find items I haven’t worn in months) but it really is down to months now – I think the original intent of a capsule wardrobe was to teach us not to have too much, and to truly appreicate what we’re wearing, as long as we abide by that in our hearts I think we’re going to be just fine. 🙂

    Like

  2. not a shopping blog says:

    For me, it’s a fun exercise to take on a short-term capsule wardrobe – but at the same time, it always felt kind of wasteful to have clothes hanging around in my closet that I wouldn’t “allow” myself to wear for 2 weeks or 4 weeks, or however much time.

    Even without the constraint of a capsule wardrobe, I find that I wear the same pair of jeans 2-3x/week and I would estimate that I wear about 10% of my wardrobe 90% of the time. I still like having more options, just in case…

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      I completely agree! I think my struggle is with feeling wasteful. I successfully managed a whole year of capsules and so after that I feel that all my items are really solid so rather than having them out of rotation for part of the year I feel better being able to wear all? Not to mention I actually don’t have too many pieces now on the whole which is incredible! 🙂 but on the Jean front? I think since finishing the capsules I think I only wear one pair occasionally- it’s like the capsule kept me wearing them! Odd! Xx

      Like

  3. Lauren Hooper says:

    I’ve been doing seasonal capsules for over a year (since Spring ’14), and I still feel so excited and invested in the idea. I have so many filler pieces that I want to replace with investment pieces; I’ve told myself if I stick to my capsule, I get one investment piece and 2 budget pieces (if needed) per season. And not only have I completely changed my day to day recently (corporate world to stay at home mom), I moved from swampy Central Florida to temperate Northern Alabama. So my past seasonal capsules are in need of an almost complete overhaul. Overall sticking to a capsule has helped me to devote so much less time and money to my appearance. I have even simplified my beauty routine drastically. I can’t imagine ever going back to a closet stuffed with unworn, unloved clothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      That is amazing!!! I really wish I felt so invested still, I loved last year soo much!!! Its also uber interesting to hear how your buying now, do you see that sustaining you going forward or do you think that might alter with time?

      I have to say I love a simple beauty routine! I’m far more about the clothes than the make up! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lauren Hooper says:

        I can definitely see my buying routine being sustainable for awhile. Foregoing a change in my locale, the contents of my wardrobe would work for any differences in my lifestyle. At this point, I’m just buying a bunch of wants versus needs. If anything, I can see myself abstaining from clothing purchases completely in the future; once I buy a house, I will want ALL my extra money to go towards renovations and decor.

        Like

  4. laura says:

    I have entertained the idea of capsule wardrobes, and in reality, I probably unconsciously dress in a sort of “capsulized” way any way depending on what I buy during the season and what colors I’m really gravitating towards that particular time of year. However, I’ve never really hunkered down and got to actually picking out what pieces I want to be part of said capsule. I think it would be fun to try next summer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      Funnily I actually found summer to be my least favourite time for a capsule! In the end I did six months with forty pieces! Tbh I wore the same dresses or repeat and felt bored! I for sure feel more stretched by the winter seasons! But then again that’s what puts me off in winter because I want all the options! Haha it’s fun though to do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

