Lifestyle Blogging | Why I decided to open up the blog . . .

Why I decided to open up the blog

When I began therealjlow I had in the back of my mind the idea to have the blog cover various topics, the problem? I had no idea what I was doing and second I had no money to do what I wanted to do. (Like buy a whole new closet of clothes, change all our furniture weekly and you know find world peace . . . the normal)

So I had to look at what I could do and what I could do was the 30 x 30 challenge. I was completely in love with Kendi Everyday at the time (and still am, have you not read her blog?) and the idea of wearing clothes I already owned in different combinations gave me a months’ worth of content instantly. What actually happened however was I got a job, got distracted and started a personal style blog which ultimately led me to buying too many clothes and most of which I would rarely wear and be onto the next. I was honestly in the beginning the worst blogger known to man, I wrote sporadically, failed to really advertise blogs I didn’t join blogging communities like the Independent fashion Bloggers for the longest time and really it was sort of a none starter until I would guess 2014.

I started making plans, started speaking with incredible bloggers who I love and started working on content that really matters, the lifestyle you want with the budget you’ve got. A little bit of realism in an industry which is on the whole a lot more unrealistic than it was back in the day!

So what does this mean for me and you with therealjlow well here is the thing I would hate to not talk fashion anymore, because it will always be my first love but I really wanted to open up the playing field for everything else that we love in life, whether that is choosing your first piece of furniture or seventh! Putting together a cocktail or dinner for your friends right to issues affecting us every day!

I also really want to get you guess more involved. Something I have really wanted to do more of is blogger collabs! I love doing them and I love reading them and sharing the love so I really hope that some of you want to join forces and come up with some amazing things!I even want you to drop me a quick line about you want covered after all there’s always something I might miss so having your input is of great importance to me! My goal (I know I said this last year) is to get TRJL over to its own site! Saying that I have no idea where to turn with getting all this blog over to wordpress.org so again if you know of anyone (and who doesn’t cost a bomb!) I want to hear from you!

I am really, really excited about this! I’m looking forward to having a bit more freedom, trying more things out and sharing with you all! I think this will be the start of an incredible adventure!

9 thoughts on “Lifestyle Blogging | Why I decided to open up the blog . . .

  1. sillyfacealice says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. This is your corner of the internet and what’s magical about that is that you can share whatever you’d like in it. You’re such a genuine gorgeous person, I’m excited to see the other sides of you! On a side note, could you share how you really started getting into blogging? I’m kind of in the non-starter phase, I decided recently that I want to be more involved with my blog and really think about improving it and engaging with the community. Any tips on how to do that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      Hiya, thank you for your comment! 🙂 it’s so nice hearing from you! So what kind of info are you looking for specifically getting your blog out there, marketing and that kind of thing or the more organising content side? I can certainly share either or both! No problem.

      I have to say you have already done the big thing and that’s deciding to dedicate time to it! Like most things and this includes blogging, the more you put in the more you get out 🙂 thanks again for stopping by and when your on your feet lets talk collabs! 🙂 xx

      Like

      • sillyfacealice says:

        I would say both! The marketing side and the content side (maybe you could even do a post on this — just a thought)…and yes would love to do a collab sometime in the future! 🙂

        Like

    • therealjlow says:

      Hi Lesley thanks for your comment, I totally agree! I’ve really taken it upon myself to be as real and honest as possible especially since so many in blogging have become more brands than themselves! Thanks again! And don’t be afraid to pitch collabs! The new realjlow is here! Jess x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

