The Capsule Wardrobe | Maybe six months is too long . . .

The Capsule Wardrobe | Maybe six months is too long . . .

My SS capsule began in May 2015, it is now July, that’s almost three months and I am questioning myself, maybe six months is too long…

I initially pushed back Spring to combine it in with Summer to give myself a six to seven month capsule wardrobe. I had thought that this would work for an easy summer, but I think I was wrong. This is not necessarily because I need to shop but because my clothes don’t seem to be working for me in full, now here’s the big problem,

“I don’t dress the same way in summer as I do in winter”

What does this mean? Well quite simply in winter I love one great, layered outfit. I have come to realise that my style is quite reliant upon its removable items. I am well known in my parents’ house for taking off and leaving accessories all over the house, the amount of times I have left rings on the sink in the downstairs bathroom is unreal and I’m really no different now.

I am highly reliant it seems on these pieces for my interest and excitement for an outfit and whilst this is achievable in the cooler months once it gets hot all those layers go out the window and in its place? I change outfits. My weekends act like consistently changing runways and often that restrictive capsule wardrobe has only hindered rather than helped my natural dressing tendencies.

I am therefore pretty sure that this is why I am far less in love with my summer capsule than I am with my fall/winter and even spring capsules! As you can see here today and on Friday I have put in more than just different shoes but layers as well.

Now before you judge me (to harshly) I also made a fatal sweater error with choosing multiple thick jumpers and then losing my cardigan at the Dickens festival which has now left me with only cardigan. This has ultimately led me back into my full wardrobe and you know what this has told me?

That I still love my clothes and in particular my full wardrobe.  I had previously thought that I would be able to find more pieces to chuck come the end of summer but I have to say the more I do this season the more torn I am not between this and shopping but my current clothes and all my clothes. The greatest thing about three month capsule slots is this, you see your mistake you rectify it in three months and move on. In this case however at the end of six months it will be too late so rather than stare at what I can’t wear I have honestly just been putting in what I need. That’s not been my fall/winter capsules but my summer, warm weather wear.

What does that mean for the capsule? Well honestly I’m not sure but if there’s one thing I know it’s this, until you’ve really found your it style, you’re going to make mistake and it won’t be a perfect experiment until you do.

Now thinking of fall what are we thinking about fall 2015? I’m drawn to the dramatic, gothic styles whilst equally enamoured with the chic geek look! (I think my Rory Gilmore days might be making a reappearance!) leave your comments below I’d love to hear our thoughts on both the post and the new season!

2 thoughts on “The Capsule Wardrobe | Maybe six months is too long . . .

  1. bemyintention says:

    Can I just say that I relate to this post on all levels?! I have actually been pulling clothes from my full wardrobe too because when I built my capsule I thought I wanted like airy and bohemian. Turns out I only like that for others but I’m a grunge girl at heart. I only wear about 10 of my 40 pieces and now I’m terribly bored and rarely feel cute. Here is where I wonder if a capsule is really for me?

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      Completely and utterly agree! I think a capsule wardrobe works if you have a really solid style and say that’s everything you own but I actually feel now that after getting it back together in autumn that I want to use my whole wardrobe since all the pieces work for me now! Maybe this is actually best used like the 30×30 challenge. Something to do when you need to mix up your style when you’ve been shopping with disregard! 🙂 xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

