Them Jeans | Are Boyfriend jeans a one fit suits all?

I absolutely adore my boyfriend jeans, I think I bought them at least three years ago from the Zara sale and I haven’t wanted to replace them since. Now that being said would I say that they are the most flattering? They’re not, they work ace with heels and a tucked in shirt but a loose T and flats? Passable i’m sure but not as great and I also think its easy to get the boyfriend jean wrong.

The reason I am talking about this is because honestly I have been looking for a pair of full length, girlfriend jeans. These clearly are cropped at my ankle because they are for far shorter ladies and thats fine but I really wanted a pair that I could wear throughout winter and feel as relaxed and as comfortable as these, but did I find them? no.

What I did find is a load of ill fitting and strangely dyed jeans. I thought at first that maybe I couldn’t wear these but now I also think that the stores are not making as attractive denim. I have even seen it on the streets where women have walked out trying to rock oddly shaped denim and it made me wonder are boyfriend jeans really a one style fits all, honestly at the moment I think not.

There is some strange obsession with boyfriends in too stiff a fabric which sticks out and shows how loose they are in odd areas on a woman and that to me just isn’t flattering. If your boyfriends aren’t broken in and well faded I again don’t think this is nearly as flattering as a soft, well dyed pair. My favourite are those that are really bolded faded or failing that in a light denim.

Now do I think that they’re is a shape they don’t suit? I’m not sure, maybe. All I know if that for an apple girl like myself they work because naturally I have skinny legs and no butt so these actually balance out my top heaviness and work well to give me a uniformed silhouette so I can only assume that should you be the opposite of that that it might not work quite as great unless they are far closer tailored, but of course I could be entirely wrong!

What are your thoughts on the boyfriend jean? Are their shapes you feel don’t suit them as well or do you like me wonder whether current dyes and fabric choices are ruining the chances of women the world over? leave me a comment below I’d love to hear from non apple shapes your thoughts on these, my wardrobe staples!

7 thoughts on “Them Jeans | Are Boyfriend jeans a one fit suits all?

  1. anabellino says:

    You look good in them! I, on the other hand, am a rectangle shape and would never even dare to wear a boyfriend Jean. Maybe other rectangle girls feel different. I’ve tried several from different stores and it’s always the same. They make me look even shorter than I am and they just don’t flatter me AT ALL!

    Like

  2. matchamilady says:

    I have yet to be able to afford a pair but when I have some spare cash, I’d like to try and find a pair. Trousers are probably the most difficult of items to find because it;s never universal and I find it hard to fit even though I’m a standard pear/triangle shape. Plus I’m 5ft so the hem at the bottom appeals to me greatly but only if I can find it in a petite range, another hassle

    Like

    • therealjlow says:

      Ah major issues! I always think it would be really cool if stores made to fit different shapes as well as heights, granted that probably won’t work for all either but it would be interesting to see! I remember gap did something like that a few years ago but it was short lived!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ina Library says:

    You look great in boyfriend jeans! I own a pair and have tried to wear them, but I feel like I look like I drown in them. I’m 5’2 and classify as petite but I’m more pear-shaped with chicken legs so it looks awkward! However, I appreciate them on my lazy Netflix days!! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing! Love this look!

    Like

    • therealjlow says:

      Thanks glad its a good look! Why do you think that is? That they arn’t quite perfect for you or that particular fit? I love mine for lazy days in as well! So much better than those skinny jeans!! πŸ™‚ xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ina Library says:

        I think the “baggier” bottom and butt area give me a fuller instead of slimming look, simply because of my proportions!! However, it’s not the end of the world. And definitely better than tight skinny jeans on a lazy day!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

