The not so flattering dress . . .

Purple Scarf: Dorothy Perkins, Green Dress: Gap, Tights: Boots, Flat trainers: Next, Bag: Primark.

It was during the January sale in Gap that this little dress sprang into my hands and insisted that I take it home and thank god I did. I haven’t spoken about this dress so far or worn it on the blog and that’s because of one thing, although comfy it’s not that flattering.

Now normally I would probably tell you all that anything that doesn’t flatter and fit perfectly isn’t worth your time, but let me tell you sometimes you need something like that in your arsenal.

I wear this dress mainly at home and around town on Sundays (our favorite thing to do being coffee runs!) and let me tell you this is the snuggliest dress ever. Being super soft and long sleeved its perfect for winter and with its sporty vibes I love pairing this with my slip on trainers making it the perfect run about town dress.

Now earlier I mentioned how this isn’t the most flattering of my capsule pieces, this is true but that doesn’t mean that I can’t make it attractive. The upside to this dress is it has great string pull sides, because of this I can pull it in and make it look more flattering however the extra fabric on the top makes it lose that flattering edge. So to combat this? Well I covered it up. I love a bit of faux fur and while I would love a faux fur gillet this is the next best thing!

I like to think this works pretty well. It’s the key to dressing, hide the bits you don’t like and show off the bits you do!

4 thoughts on “The not so flattering dress . . .

  1. lethally says:

    Actually, I like it on you. The colour suits you, and you look so warm and comfy! But as you suggest, these things are very personal too, so it’s also about how you feel you appear in the dress. But I think you look good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • therealjlow says:

      Thank you! Its not like its worst dress in the world by any stretch of the imagination! (after all I did buy it!) but I think think its one of those odd, tricky things were you sometimes have to adjust it a little bit yourself to get the greatest effect.

      Thank you for your comment, and dropping by! 🙂
      xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

