A Twenty-Something’s Big Return to Study by Aimee Dewar

A Twenty-Somethings Big Return to Study

by Aimee Dewar (The Plymouth Blogger)

Desperately trying to fit in but also to not look like an undergraduate is a concept I’ve been grappling with a lot of late. Returning to study as a postgrad two years after my first degree feels a bit like I’ve sneaked into university again and no one’s noticed – at least not yet.

In fact, it feels a bit like I’m cheating adult life in some way. This morning I had a lie-in. That felt so totally blasphemous that I got up at quarter to nine and did some housework to make myself feel better. It’s been a strange couple of weeks to put it lightly – but I can see the light at the end of the settling-in period.

I have had a few thoughts in the first two weeks of starting my Masters in the copiously-cobblestoned Plymouth, and I do feel like I can put a positive spin on all this strangeness after all.

  1. Feeling old, acting young

Whilst I still feel look like an undergraduate – I swear I just haven’t aged these past two years – it probably is a blessing in disguise, or at least it will be when I’m thirty and still look twenty (fingers crossed). It’s interesting being enveloped into the professional lifestyle of publishing in a learning environment where we’re guided by people with first-hand experience. Studying or changing to a brand new career path is a big transition for most people and it takes a while to settle in – but that shouldn’t worry me. There’s always going to be an element of feeling out of depth and feeling slightly lost so it’s no wonder I’ve been asked a couple of times walking through the campus: Are you a Fresher? At least the student lifestyle is keeping me young!

My £4 Primark shoes are doing wonders to initiate me into student life

2. I don’t remember anything, but feel like there’s plenty to learn

I try and remember some of the protocols during my first degree … and fail! I took me two years to consider where I wanted my career to go next and, now I’m here, all the university knowledge I ever had has receded into a dark, cobwebby corner of my brain. All that aside, the tutors know that we’re all approaching this from different backgrounds and subject areas – English lit, print design, graphic design, even geography students – and they are very understanding that we’ve all done things differently in the past, which is pretty cool as we’re all bringing something new to the table.

I wish the buildings didn’t look so foreboding

3. I’ve already changed how I look at my area of work

Unsurprisingly for someone who is going into publishing, I love Waterstones. I’ve already noticed, however, that cover art of all kinds jumps out at me, even books on topics I don’t particularly like or know anything about (it’s probably the intrigue that does it). We’ve not even looked at that much design yet, but my eyes seem to be working in a different way and I seem to be drawn to new things. My bank account is already rather concerned as a result and my books are already preparing to make room for new additions. I’m excited to start looking at brand new elements, such as digital design where I’m sure my eyes will be opened even wider. Needless to say, I think I’ve definitely chosen the right career path, or at least a step in the right direction.

The University Bookseller in Plymouth: a treasure trove for my fellow book-ooglers

4. I want to join societies, and not just the Postrgrad one!

Whilst I’m in hiding from conventional adult life (whatever that may be), I’ve decided to re-live the student experience and join some clubs with my undergraduate friends whilst I’m at it. It’s all too easy to become absorbed with our work and responsibilities and having some time away to do something active is a great way to actually make sure we get some spare time in the week. By having set group activities, I find it easier not to back out or make excuses so I can sit at home and eat chocolate — or whatever I don’t really need to be doing. I’m dying to meet some new people, too. Whilst I’ve made connections prior to moving down here through the blog, I’m excited to meet more people my own not old, not young age.

Aimee has recently moved to Plymouth, Devon to study her Masters Degree in Publishing. She’s recently set up her blog, The Plymouth Blogger, to get people talking about the city and promote its people and businesses. In her spare time she can be found looking at books in Waterstones, taking iPhone pictures, and eating too much chocolate.

 

If you’ve fallen in love with Aimee and her fantastic thoughts on returning to further education like I have than you can read more of her articles and life stories here on her blog, The Plymouth Blogger or maybe you want to tweet her your thoughts on further education as a mature student? If so you can find her here! Aimee also writes for the Barbican Waterfront whose site focuses on whats on in Plymouth.

To discuss any of the guest bloggers on therealjlow over the next few weeks please feel free to use the hashtag #trjlgw

5 thoughts on “A Twenty-Something’s Big Return to Study by Aimee Dewar

  1. Brian butcher says:

    hi Aimee, Wandering about in Plymouth in between lives of a first year student and post grad is an experience most don’t have the opportunity to do. It’s a wilderness in your case of words, found between hard and soft places straining the purse strings to the limit, testing your library’s strength with limitless softies. The current between place your in at least stops you seeing those green monsters, the Pilgrims, strutting their stuff at Home park. Your un doubtable talent will see you emerge from your current position in whatever your head and heart desires..
    Brian. X
    @Jdrt

    Like

    • Aimee Dewar says:

      Thanks Julie 🙂 It has certainly been a shock not remembering how to reference articles or how to use databases :O But sitting in class makes me feel very at home, which is a good sign! Really enjoyed reading your post (and I’ve been reading a few on your blog), good luck with your new job next week! (Loving the rebrand too!) xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

