Like Father . . .

DSC_0404

Hat: Marks and Spencers  Scarf: Accessorize Sale (January 2014) Similar Top: H&M Basics Bag: Accessorize Sale (January 2014) Similar Jeans: Next Concert Ticket Heels: Clarks Similar (want, want, want!) Watch: Michael Kors (December 2011).

DSC_0402DSC_0416DSC_0390DSC_0407DSC_0409

(This was for comical reasons – I try not to pull this face too often. It scares people.)

Like Father, Like Daughter. 

Growing up, my dad was a Scout and Venturer Scout leader. This meant that several nights a week he was down at the ‘hut’ with a division of Hitchins Scouts. One of my dads favourite parts of scouting was the 40 mile walk. Several days of walking and camping was like a dream to my dad. Now before we get ahead of ourselves I am not saying that was all passed down. In fact I feel the oposite about camping. However walking is something he did pass on, however much we didn’t realise this when I was a kid.

When I left for University I spent a huge amount of time exploring London, by foot.

I didn’t expect to be the girl who would end up spending her free time working out how to walk from Greenwich & Deptford to Blackheath, Lewisham, Canary Warf, Bank, . . .Central. I even took trains into central to walk from Bank to Piccadily Circus (for the National Gallery) Westminister, Waterloo, Southbank . . .

And then when I met Josh our first date was us walking from Greenwich first to Canary Warf caught a train to Bank walked around Covent Garden for Lunch walked over to Green Park, Hyde Park down to St James and started back to greenwich via Elephant and Castle (thats how far we made before catching a bus).

Cities are my thing. Where my dad walks the countryside over hills and moutains I’m more the urban explorer. Luckily three years of exploring the city have meant that I have gained a slightly odd internal compass when it comes to the London Streets. So when the tube stikes hit I knew what I wanted to do. Walk it.

The first day, I didn’t. Primarily because I was concerned about not making it in on time. On google it said 38 minutes to work. Back in my hayday that would have been an easy 20 minutes but with a broken ankle dividing me from my prime I was little bit concerned on timings but by the second day I was away.

In fact, I got into work earlier than the day befores bus trip 25 minutes? Not bad. Especially for the girl who wanted to lay down by the time she got to The Oval Stadium. But the buzz that I get from walking is equivilant to when I’m on my bike, when I have gone on a run, you name it. Like father Like Daughter apparently. So with that in mind heres to the next Strike!

p.s. I didn’t wear this to walk in. I wore leggings and a “We love fish and chips tee from Zara” But I’d love to think that I am this stylish all the time . . .

6 thoughts on “Like Father . . .

Leave a Reply

